lunchtime on a Friday

More often than I’d like, I don’t leave the office at lunch.  It stinks, but it is what it is.  While I can’t always do it, I definitely recognize the value of getting out at lunch, even if it’s just getting away from your desk for a bit.  I think it’s also much healthier than being sedentary all day.

Today I got out.

My goal was to hit up Michael’s for some arts and crafts supplies for the marathon and then hit up the supermarket for some ingredients for this weekends baking.  Michael’s happens to be in the same parking lot as Party City which is not where you want to be this week.  Party City turns in to your Halloween headquarters (their words), aka a zoo.  Needless to say, I couldn’t find a parking spot and didn’t want to do more than two laps of the lot to try.

Stop and Shop is technically in the same shopping center but it’s downstairs and has a totally different lot which always has plenty of parking.  I guess I could have walked to Michael’s but I was being lazy (although it would have been a long walk with a hill).

This weekend I’m going to be a baking beast.  I have to make something for a party tomorrow night and then on Sunday I’m making my stuff for the bake sale on Tuesday.

My cart was kind of embarrassing, or really awesome, depending on how you look at it.

2 boxes of cake mix (yellow and white)
a 2 pound bag of powdered sugar
a big jar of Fluff
chocolate chips
oreos
sweetened condensed milk
honeycrisp apples (a snack for me)
sushi (lunch for me)

The lady behind me actually commented on my goods.  This doesn’t count ingredients that I already have at home (peanut butter, eggs) and butter (which was on sale at another store).  Quite the healthy shopping trip!

For the party tomorrow night I’m going to try this recipe.  I wanted something easy so I’m hoping for the best.  For some reason I wanted one of those recipes where you use a cake mix and doctor it up.

Peanut Butter Bars

  • 1 (18.25-ounce) package yellow cake mix
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 (10-ounce) package peanut butter chips
  • 1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degree F.
     
  2. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, eggs, peanut butter, and butter; mix well. Press half the mixture onto bottom of an ungreased 9″ x 13″ baking dish.  Bake 10 minutes.
     
  3. Remove peanut butter base from oven, top with peanut butter chips, and drizzle with sweetened condensed milk. Crumble remaining peanut butter mixture then sprinkle over top. Bake 25 to 30 minutes, or until golden.
     
  4. Allow to cool completely then cut into bars.

I will let you know how it turns out (hopefully good since I won’t get to test it out beforehand).

Any fun weekend plans??

Leave a Reply

