And then there was one…

After much thought and indecisiveness, I decided to give up my Thursday night class.  I’m now down to teaching only one class per week (Saturday mornings).  I’d like to get to 2 or 3 though, so we’ll see how things play out in the future.

Even though I know I don’t need to explain my decision to anyone, for my own peace of mind, I feel like I should.

  • Empty classes for the past 5 or 6 months
  • Low energy classes (even when they’re full)
  • A general dislike of the gym
  • Low pay (I could have looked past this if I loved everything else as I don’t do it for the money)
  • Work – I’d have to leave work pretty close to 5 and the fact of the matter is that that is just not a guarantee.  If I left later I’d be anxious in the car and then have to rush to get ready.  It was no fun.

I teach spin because I really love it.  When anything causes me to not love it and even dread going to teach, it’s time to move on.

I’m a little frustrated that my work schedule is infringing on my spin schedule, but know that it’s silly.  $20/class won’t take me very far.

So we’ll see where the spinning future takes me…

2 thoughts on “And then there was one…

  1. Hey Jessica! I totally agree with your philosophy. Do what you love and love what you do. If you stop loving it, something needs to change. I’m lucky (so far). I love my teaching job and my spin classes, gym and participants. I always say that I’d do it for free (teaching spin, not kindergarten) And FYI: you make twice as much as I do. :).

    1. Thanks for the encouragement Chris!
      I think that subconsciously I feel like less of an instructor since I only teach one class. Although I know that is not true. Quality over quantity.
      But overall it’s the right decision and i’m kind of excited about having my Thursday nights back to myself.

Leave a Reply

