23 Paws – August edition

It’s that time of the month again!   Courtesy of Cinnamon over at Eat Pray Tri, you get to see more of Minnie every 23rd of the month.  Lucky you!

If you missed my first post, you can read it here.

So today I’m going to talk about Minnie’s name(s).  First off, she came with the name Minnie.  She didn’t know her name so we thought about changing it but couldn’t agree on anything so in the meantime we kept calling her Minnie and she eventually learned her name.  At that point it wasn’t worth trying to change.

I don’t know if it’s the same for kids because I don’t have any, but I call her about a million different names.

Minnie Moo, Miss Mouse, Moo Moo, Pretty Girl, Sweet Girl, Dog Face, Booger Face, The Minnie, Minnie Mouse Ruby Slippers, Dog Face Killer, Minner, Minnie Baby, Pumpkin dog, Dumpling dog, Pooper, wiggle-butt, little bunny….you get the idea I think.

Most are iterations of her name, but not all.  Are you the same way?

Pictures

As I’ve mentioned before, while a beautiful dog, Minnie is not overly photogenic.  This just may have something to do with me using my phone as a camera, but that is TBD.  On occasion though, I can get a good picture of her. 

Since I have a few friends who love her almost as much as I do, I’ve taken to sending people pictures personalized to them.

A couple of examples:

and

Yes, officially a dog obsessed loser…and loving every minute!

Doing good for dogs and people

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m going to be doing a 30 or 50 mile bike ride on September 9th to benefit the Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind.  This organization is located in Smithtown, NY and raises and trains dogs to serve as guide dogs for individuals who are blind, vision impaired, or have another disability.

Growing up, my grandfather was very involved in this organization so I grew up with a great respect for this group.  I vaguely remember going to their HQ once and getting to meet the puppies and then being blindfolded and walking with a dog.  It’s a very worthy cause in general but has extra importance due to its importance to my grandfather.

And now…Happy 23rd of August.

I asked Minnie what she was getting me for my birthday.  I told her I expected a gift and that poop would not suffice.

10 thoughts on “23 Paws – August edition

  1. Happy August 23rd to you! I don’t have dogs, but I do have two crazy cats and we call them pretty much every name under the sun other than their real names. Lucy is most commonly known as ‘Lulu’and Leo is usually ‘Fatboy’. And yes, people do that with kids too. My older son was ‘Mr. Bug’ and the younger one was ‘Chachi’. They really don’t appreciate those names now that they’re almost 14 and 12 though…
    How’s the bike training going?
    Have a great weekend!

    1. Glad it’s not just me with the names!
      Training is non-existent. Had planned to ride last night but got home late and the sun is setting earlier. Hoping to get to it in the next couple of weeks…guess I kind of have to 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness I am totally the same way. All of my dogs have all sorts of names and variations on their names. I wonder why we do that? I love it though…I think they do too! Those pics are HI.larious. Minnie is a beaut!!
    Awesome awesome foundation you are riding for! Love that you shared that.

Leave a Reply

