Welcome to August

I can honestly say that I have no idea where the summer has gone.  I know it’s not gone yet, but it is flying.  I’ve done next to nothing summer-specific and barely even have a tan.  Being a responsible adult kind of takes some of the fun out of summer.  Work gets in the way and when it doesn’t, my fur-baby is always at the forefront of my mind too.  Hopefully I can make up for some lost summer in August.  Outdoor happy hour, here I come!

The good thing about August?  It’s my birthday month!!  August 24th will put me in to double 3s.  (Side note, just read in a magazine that supposedly 33 is the best year of a woman’s life…good to know.)

I’m starting off August with a boot camp class tonight.  I used to take this class all the time, but I also used to spend a ton of time in the gym.  Not so much lately.  I’m friends with the instructor and he’d been asking me when I’d return, so when I saw him last night I made it a point to tell him that I would be there tonight.  I gave my word, so it’s on.

Last night I ran outside.  I haven’t run outside in months.  I have breathing issues in ideal weather so the thought of running in hot weather is anything but appealing.  But for some reason last night the planets aligned and I felt like running outside.  I went to the gym, changed and put my stuff in the locker and then headed out.  Since once again I used to do this a lot, I had a route in mind.  It was about a 2 mile loop.  It always starts out rough but I pushed through.  Right before the mile mark it goes from flat to a pretty large hill.  Weird thing is, I like hills.  They suck at the time, but I like doing them as a) i think they make the run more interesting and b) they make the rest of it seem easier.

So I finished my loop and felt good, so I kept going.

I honestly had no clue how far I had gone so I was pretty happy to see that it was farther than 2.5 miles.  Towards the end my shoulder was hurting but otherwise I felt pretty good.

As someone who has never been a runner, it will never cease to amaze me that I can bust out 2-3 miles on any random day.

Now my favorite diagram…

Yup, there’s that hill!

In other non fitness related news, I got an early birthday present from the sig other.

Since I’ve been having a hard time finding time to hit the library, I decided that maybe an e-reader would be a good birthday present.  I told my parents and we figured they’d get one for me, but first I needed to do some research.  I put a post on FB looking for feedback.  Well little did I know that the sig other saw that post and a lightbulb went off in his head.  I came home later the next day to the new Google Nexus7 which according to reviews is a stellar little tablet.

My only concern is how it will function in sunlight but I will have to hope for the best.  So far DJ has spent way more time playing with it than I have and he loves it.

What I did learn is that Amazon has a Kindle app for any tablet.  I personally think this is ingenious as it allows everyone to be able to purchase Kindle books, not just Kindle users.  The app is free but the books are not.

Do you use an e-reader?  It will be a big adjustment for me as I love books…the pages, the feel.

So now it’s time to work and be productive.  Have a great day and I’ll recap bootcamp tomorrow. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Welcome to August

Leave a Reply

