Multi cup day

It feels like it just might be one of those days where I have more than one cup of coffee.  I’m going to wait a bit before committing to a second in hopes that the first is just slow to kick in. 

I guess that statement/sentiment kind of goes with the whole Monday morning thing.  I still don’t understand why on a weekend I can wake up at 6:30a without an alarm yet during the week even with the alarm I have a hard time getting out of bed by 6:45.  Why??  It’s not like I dread going to work, just don’t get it.

How were the weekends?  Mine ended up very different than expected.  Going in to the weekend I had plans for Saturday night and Sunday day.  Both ended up being cancelled due to sickness (their’s, not mine).  So it ended up being an extremely low-key weekend, which was actually quite nice.

Friday night I attempted to put together an Olympic themed ride for Saturday.  I downloaded a bunch of music from Chris’ playlist but ultimately just wasn’t feeling it, so I went with a standard ride.  Class itself on Saturday was good, packed.  Saturday was errands and then Saturday night DJ did a bunch of cooking just to use up some of the produce we had on hand.  He cooked up a huge batch of sauce and meatballs and also made an eggplant pizza.

Sunday I subbed a class and DJ played paintball.  The class was good.  It was full yet I still felt very little energy.  I know I’ve said it a million times, but I just don’t get this particular gym.  I’ll post the rides later, nothing new though.  Unfortunately most of my Sunday was spent cleaning (my least favorite activity ever).

Dinner on Sunday revolved around the massive sauce/meatball batch that DJ had made the night before.  But since I had eaten it the night before (and had a carb fest for most of Sunday), I wasn’t really feeling pasta.  Enter my best idea yet.  Zucchini ribbons!  I can’t take credit for the idea really, having seen it on another blog, but still…

Of course the  meatballs kind of negated the healthy-ness of this dish, but boy was it delicious!  I without a doubt prefer the taste of zucchini over pasta, so I expect that this will show up many more times in the future.

Prior to dinner, I had finished cleaning and wanted to bake.  Last week I bought some hard peaches in anticipation of making my grandmother’s peach cake.  Well, I didn’t have time until yesterday.

Voila…

Peach (or plum) Cake
 
1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
3/4 cup plus 1-1/2 tablespoons sugar
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
1 teaspoon grated lemon peel
 
3 large plums (peaches) about 1-1/4 pounds pitted and cut into 1/2 inch wedges
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
 
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter 9 inch diameter spring form pan. 
Whisk first 3 ingredients in small bowl to blend.
Using electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until fluffy.  Beat in 3/4 cup sugar.  Add eggs 1 at a time, then lemon juice and lemon peel, beating until blended after each addition.  Beat in flour mixture.  Spread batter in prepared pan.
 
Press peach (plum) wedges halfway into batter in concentric circles, spacing slightly apart.  Mix remaining 1-1/2 tablespoons sugar and cinnamon in small bowl; sprinkle over peaches (plums).
 
Bake until cake is browned on top and tester  inserted into center comes out clean, about 50 minutes. Cut around cake, release pan sides. Serve warm or at room temperature.
 
Post baking comments…I used my Kitchenaid to mix everything (not a hand mixer).  I also used spray to coat the pan, not butter.  Unfortunately I overcooked mine as the top looked like it was still raw.  Next time I’ll stick to the 50 minutes.
2 thoughts on “Multi cup day

Leave a Reply

