Here we go Friday, here we go!

TGIF.  I’m so happy it’s Friday.  Did I mention TGIF? 🙂

I already know that this weekend is going to move too fast, but none the less, I’m still happy it’s Friday.  There really is just something about knowing that I don’t have to go to work tomorrow.  Woohoo!

So judging by the fact that I am blogging, I did not get sucked up in to a tornado and end up in Oz.  Phew.  And while we did get a lot of rain, some thunder, and some lightning, I never lost power, and there were no fallen trees (near me).  Essentially it ended up just being a thunderstorm.  Phew.

Prior to the storm I was out walking dogface.  Somewhat suddenly it went from sunny and nice to cloudy and a bit windy.  By that time we were almost home.  We met up with a bunch of neighbors in the backyard and were all chatting about as it started to get darker, cooler, and windier.  When the thunder’s frequency picked up, we all headed in.  Just in time as moments later the sky opened up.

While we were never in danger, I did attempt to use the storm as an excuse to not to some household chores.  Lots of dishes were in the sink and I was on the phone with my mom.  I said to her, “I should do dishes but feel like I probably shouldn’t during a storm, you know, I shouldn’t be in water”.  To which she said, “I think you can do dishes”.  I guess she was right.  I started doing dishes when the TV said “there’s still lightning, so stay away from windows”.  It just so happens that my sink is right near a window and a sliding glass door, uh oh.  But I risked the threat to finish those darn dishes.  Good news is, I lived to tell about it.

I also managed to bake cookies (and eat a few).  Toll house chocolate chip cookies are never a bad thing.  (Side story, when I lived alone a friend came over and I went to offer her food but didn’t have much.  She said that she found it funny that I had nothing to eat or drink but always had the ingredients to whip up cookies from scratch.  Priorities.)

Minnie sooooo wanted those cookies.  Proof:

The cookies are in the green container on the counter, which clearly she knows.

So what are your thoughts on the Olympics?  I’m not overly into them but am sure I’ll end up watching some odds and ends. 

You may think I’m nuts, but I find that often times watching the Olympics makes me feel inadequate.  My self-esteem is pretty stable, but watching these amazing athletes do things I would love to be able to do sometimes makes me feel like I’m a failure.  Now I’m not saying that I truly feel like a failure, it’s just that instead of feeling awesome, I feel like maybe I could have done better growing up.  OK, I’ll shut up on this since now I’m sure you think I’m nuts.  I’m not, I promise.

I may however do an Olympics themed ride and I may in fact borrow the entire ride from Chris over at Chrispins.  Thanks in advance if I do! 😉

Have a great weekend and happy Olympics!

4 thoughts on “Here we go Friday, here we go!

  1. You definitely should do the Olympic Spin ride!!! I don’t know why I get so excited about the olympics. I get all teary eyed when I see our athletes represent! And btw, HELLO….you will soon be doing 100 push ups in a row AND you’re a kick ass spin instructor so you are nothing short of awesome in my mind. 🙂
    I updated my playlist just a bit and added teaching notes over on the blog this morning so be sure to check it out.
    We hit a bit of turbulence last night on our flight home heading over that storm, but it wasn’t too bad. It’s good to be home-I’m teaching the Olympic ride tonight which should be interesting since my workout for the past week has consisted of walking through an amusement park (which actually was a lot of walking) and a few sprints to catch the water taxi from the hotel to the park (which we almost missed every time), and a little lifting (my frozen poolside drink to my mouth-haha). Enjoy the weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

