Dog day…indulge me

Through one blog or another, I came to Eat Pray Tri who ingeniously decided to start-up a monthly post about her dog(s).

You know I’m obsessed with my dog but I honestly do try to keep the dog-related posts to somewhat of a minimum.

I don’t know that I’ll do a post every 23rd of the month but figured it couldn’t hurt to give it a try to see how it goes.  Maybe by readership will hit an all time low, maybe it will hit a high, who knows.

Minnie

This is Minnie – aka Little Yellow Riding Hood

As you can probably tell from this photo, Minnie is an incredibly vicious and dangerous pitbull. I’m kidding about two of those things.  Yes, she is a pitbull, but she is the sweetest and often timid girl.  It’s always interesting to see how people react when they ask what kind of dog I have and hear the word “pitbull”. 

I knew I wanted a dog for years and I knew I wanted to rescue, but that was about it.  Where I live, the majority of dogs in shelters have at least some sort pitbull in them.  In case you aren’t aware, Pitbull isn’t so much a breed as a grouping of breeds.  Anyway, my significant other had grown up with pits so he felt strongly that that was what he wanted.  I was OK with it since a) it was a dog and b) it would definitely be a rescue.

 

The process started when a dog was posted on Facebook (not Minnie) as urgent, meaning he needed to find a home in the next few days or else he was going to be put down.  Often times this doesn’t mean the dog is problematic but that the shelter is overcrowded or the dog is showing signs of stress due to near 24 hour crating.  Again, I digress.

We met that dog and well let’s just say things didn’t work out.  We were pretty upset with the process so we took a time out.  A few weeks later I was introduced to Bully Breed Rescue, a local rescue group who pull dogs out of bad situations and foster them until a good home can be found.

We met two dogs.  Obviously Minnie was a better fit (the other dog ended up being adopted by his foster mom anyway).

On February 4, 2012, Minnie came for a home-visit and stayed.

She loves plush things…piles of anything.

I will admit that the first few weeks were hard and I had many “what was I thinking” moments.  Not because Minnie was a bad dog but just because I wasn’t used to the responsiblity and the invasion of my freedom.

Now i can’t imagine our lives without her and she has even turned people who had a bad feeling about pitbulls around.  I consider her my little ambassador.  Without a doubt I will rescue another pit in the future.

Her biggest two achievements are turning my sister, a big time non-dog person, and my neighbor, a 4-year-old boy who was scared of dogs, in to big time Minnie lovers.  Last time my sister was here she said “I never understood how people could love their dogs so much, but now that I’ve met Minnie, I totally understand.  I don’t know what I would do if anything ever happened to her.”

Changing one mind at a time…

9 thoughts on “Dog day…indulge me

  1. Hello, Minnie! I love your name :). My name’s Min, but people often calls me Minnie.
    She’s precious! It’s amazing how much we learn from our 4-legged companions!

  2. Well I am super excited that you found this linkup and that you and Minnie joined in! She is sooo adorable and I love that she loves to find “plush” things. My cousin also has a Pit and that is one of the sweetest dogs I know. I love how you say “I was ok with it, b/c A) it was a dog.” ha!
    I also love how you say I am ingenious. SCORE! 😉

    1. I’m also so glad to have found the linkup…yay dogs!
      I’m always happy to hear when people have good things to say about pits. They really do get such a bad rap (rep?).
      Always a good day when I find a new blog to read! 😀

  3. What a wonderful story. I love hearing good stories about Pitbulls, especially since we had a horrible experience with one once. Your Minnie looks sweet. I also love winning over the people and kids that are afraid of dogs. Nice to meet you.

    1. Hi Carrie! Thanks for the comment.
      I’m so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with a pit. But, I am happy to hear that you are open to good stories too. It’s not a blanket statement, but so many times it’s how the dog was raised, just like a bad child is often the result of how they were parented. Thank you for being willing to see the good. Minnie is a really sweet dog and all you’d have to do to scare her is bust out that mop! 🙂

Leave a Reply

