Odds and ends Thursday

Quick recap of last night and then I figured I’d share some random things that are on my mind today…

I had to stay a little late at work last night but still made it to the gym (go me!).  I did somewhere between 20-40 minutes on the spin bike (not sure of the exact time due to interruptions).  After that I had plans to do my pushups and then meet with a trainer to get some exercises that will help build up the pushup muscles.  Of course plans don’t always work…

I did get my pushups in.. 6, 8, 6, 6, 8 (goal was max, more than 7)
It was hard.  I’m not sure what’s going on but I might be in over my head.  However I’m going to suck it up and just deal with it…the good things in life aren’t easy (or free).

The plan was to speak with a trainer (the fitness manager) but I ended up running in to a woman I hadn’t seen in ages and a lengthy conversation ensued.  By the time we were done it was later than planned and I had to get home.

I did however manage to get a quick chat in with another trainer who suggested the following for those looking to get started on pushups.  Lie flat on the ground with your hands near your armpits (push-up position) and focus on pushing yourself up from the ground and then lowering yourself back down.  Repeat.  He said he has gotten plenty of women (his words) started with push-ups this way.  Seems to make sense.

I’ll do a follow-up post separately with some exercises that should help with pushups (primarily triceps from what I understand).

And now the random…

 

TV – the TV in my living room has been out of commission since the storm on Sunday.  It’s really made me realize how reliant I am on that TV as a source of entertainment and/or distraction.  In addition, I realized how often I look to the cable box to see what time it is.  I should probably just buy a clock for the room.

Body wash – I’m obsessed with my current body wash.  Tone Fruit Peel.  When I think of Tone I think of the 80s for some reason.  I bought it because I liked how it smelled.  Now I LOVE how it smells.  It’s like little scent beads affix themselves to my skin and when I start sweating they release the most yummy scent.  Try it!

Random smile – This “recipe” was shared on Facebook and I think they’re absolutely adorable.  I read the directions and I’m not sure that they’re worth the effort, but they are really darn cute!

Click here for the recipe.

 And now…enjoy your days!!

Leave a Reply

