I’m feeling it…and wanting to eat it…

I love trying to come up and failing with witty post titles.

I’m feeling it…
I’m sore.  Yesterday was day 1 in the 100 push-up challenge and while it wasn’t the hardest thing I’ve ever done, it was definitely more push-ups than I usually do, so I’m a bit sore.  However since I love being sore, I’m OK with it.  Hopefully by tomorrow I’ll be ready for Day 2.  What was weird for me is that you’re supposed to recover about 60 seconds between sets.  I didn’t want to do much in that time, so I pretty much just sat there, waiting to go again.  As the reps increase, so does the recovery, so maybe I’ll incorporate some stretching or something, as opposed to just staring at the floor.

Eat it…
And finally, the oatmeal cookie recipe…I’ve only been talking about it for ages….

Chewy Oatmeal Raisin cookies (the best I’ve had yet)

Dry Ingredients (whisk together and set aside)
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking power
1 teaspoon kosher salt

Wet Ingredients (cream together in mixer)
1 cup unsalted butter (i’ve used 1/2 cup (not really enough), but found that for me I prefer to use 3/4 cup)
1 cup sugar
1 cup dark brown sugar, packed
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla

Additional Ingredients
3 cups oats (not instant)
1.5 cups raisins

Preheat oven to 350.

Once the wet ingredients have been creamed, incorporate the dry ingredients.  (I use my kitchen aid mixer so I’m able to do everything in it’s bowl.)  Mix until no flour is visible. Be careful not to overmix.  Then add oats and raisins and mix to incorporate.

Using a cookie scoop or spoon, place spoonfuls on to greased cookie sheet and bake for 11-13 minutes.

My Notes:
I use a smaller spoon so for me this recipe makes lots of cookies, which I love.  Obviously if you make smaller cookies, watch the time so that they don’t burn.  And as I stated above, you can cut 1/4 cup butter out of the recipe without compromising the taste.  One time I accidentally only used 1/2 cup butter.  They still tasted really good but had a slightly more “healthy” texture.

These have become my go-to cookie recipe.  Let me know if you try them.

2 thoughts on “I’m feeling it…and wanting to eat it…

Leave a Reply

