Here we go 100!!

Good morning!  I hope you all had lovely weekends!

My weekend was nice.  I had originally thought I was teaching both Saturday and Sunday but when I took a closer look at my text messages I realized that I wasn’t needed on Sunday.  Oh well.  Saturday’s class was good.  I used this ride….kind of.  That’s the 60 minute version, I used the 45 which is a little different.

During class I felt great but once class was over and I left the spin room, I was beat.  I guess it was a tougher ride than I had originally thought.

Prior to class on Saturday I had my friend Jacky evaluate my push-up form in preparation for the 100 push up challenge which is starting today.  Thankfully my form was good.  We discussed the different hand positions and how they change which muscles are taking the bulk of the work.  Based upon that conversation, for now, I’m going to stick with my slightly wider elbow position.  I think consistency is key for now, and I’m choosing a hand position I know I can work with.

Again I want to state that I’m following the plan listed at www.hundredpushups.com.  I want to give credit where credit is due.

So I took my initial test, where you determine your starting point and I ranked #2 which is apparently where many people fall.  The count for #2 is between 6-14 push-ups with good form.  I did about 10 and probably could have done more but since I’m scared of what’s to come, I did not want to hit 14+.

So what’s the plan for today?  5 sets of push-ups with rest of about 60 seconds between sets.

The sets aim for the following reps…6, 6, 4, 4, and max (at least 5)

I think that seems do-able.

I’m going to update information on the 100 pushup challenge page of the blog as well.  If you want to do this with me, feel free to comment here or there and we’ll take it from there.  I’d like to take a before photo so I’ll try to get to that today.  I’m not a huge fan of people flaunting their physiques online so I’ll likely chop off my head from the photo since in my world, that makes it better. 🙂

Time to get to work…Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

