End of the week

I have totally become that person who is OBSESSED with her dog.  It is crazy to me how much I love her.  My neighbor took this picture last week and I just can’t stop looking at it.  Clearly I need help.

So.  It’s Friday!  The weird week is almost done with.  I’m very happy and very ready for the weekend.  Not sure how, but somehow working only 4 days made me want the weekend that much more.

As some of you know, I’ve really been struggling with the whole gym thing since getting Minnie.  I’m happy to say that this week was pretty successful in terms of working out.  It was hardly perfect, but it was an improvement.

Saturday – taught
Sunday – upper body and took a spin class
Monday – lower body and 1 mile run
Tuesday – off
Wednesday – taught
Thursday – taught
Friday – off

I honestly can’t remember the last time I worked out 5 days in one week.  This is a momentous occasion!!

One thing I always try to incorporate in to my workouts are pushups.  They’re a great full upper body toner.  Up until recently I thought I was doing them correctly (or at least somewhat correctly).  Yesterday before going to the gym I was looking at some women’s fitness magazine (can’t remember which) and it’s explanation of a pushup said to lower until your chest touches the ground and to keep your elbows close to your sides.

My pushups usually had my elbows out, like this.

Obviously this is NOT me – Source

 

However, according to the magazine, they should look more like this…

Notice how in this picture the drawings elbows are closer to the body (again, not me).

So yesterday I decided to try the “correct” way.  Normally I can do anywhere from 8-15 pushups, depending on the day.  Doing this style, I managed 5.  Yikes!  And guess what, my arms are sore today.

As a result of googling pushups, I came across the 100 Push Ups Challenge website.  I’m thinking I’m going to do this.  Since pushups can be done anywhere with no equipment, I really have no excuses.  I’ll let you know for sure if it’s a go (and even post a before and after picture).

Tell me, how do you do pushups?  I know that there are modifications for different muscle targeting, but what’s your default?

Now it’s time to get through Friday and enjoy the (HOT) weekend!  Be safe and have fun!

6 thoughts on “End of the week

  1. Your doggie is so adorable! I can see why you are so in love :). Good infomation on the push ups. I usually do them with my elbows out like the first picture. I guess I will try it your way and see the difference next time. I also do them ‘girlie style’, but I still find them quite challenging, so I figure it’s better than nothing. Way to go on the 5 day workout week!!!!!!

    1. Thanks for the pup compliment. 😀
      I’m not really convinced that how we’ve been doing our pushups is wrong, but I’m intrigued. Let me know what you think of this method.
      Have a great weekend!!

  2. Jess, I recently started doing push-ups and was also told that elbows need to be close to the body.
    ummm, thats funny because I couldnt even do 2 like that…however, I think I might just be happy doing them incorrectly.

    1. I have a love/hate relationship with the tricep pushups.
      I think that pushups on the knees can be harder than standard pushups done with the wrong form…but that’s just my two cents.
      I took a class where we had to count how many we could do in 2 minutes. I don’t think that saying you did 50 counts when you lowered yourself all of two inches, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

