Weekend recap

Good morning and happy Monday!

Sorry for the lack of posts last week.  I actually came down with either a stomach bug or food poisoning, not sure which, on Wednesday night and was more or less out of commission until Saturday.  Not fun!  I called in sick to work on Thursday and made it in on Friday only to go home halfway through the day.

Thankfully by Friday night I was able to eat something and I woke up on Saturday wanting coffee, so I knew things had improved.

I taught on Saturday morning and ended up getting a bit dizzy at the end.  I know it was because I hadn’t eaten much in the past two days, so I dialed it back a bit and then had a snack right after class.  Class was good, full with a waitlist.  Of course since nothing ever goes smoothly, I came in to find that one bike was missing a pedal.  Thankfully just as I learned that, someone cancelled and all was right in the world.

I’m hoping my Wednesday 4th of July class is full, but I’m not sure what to expect.

Sunday morning I woke up wanting to work out, so I figured spin was a great option.  I decided after much thought to take the 9:15a class that I had subbed the Sunday before.  I was nervous, not so much about the class, but about the instructor.  An hour is a long time to be in a class with a bad instructor.  But off I went.

I introduced myself to her and she seemed very nice and upbeat.  She also told me that she teaches at several other gyms, so that was encouraging as well.  The class was full.  She started the class and was wearing a mic (another great thing as I hate it when I can’t hear the instructor).  She explained that the ride had a theme….divas.  Yikes!  As much as I try to incorporate female artists in to my playlists, my preferences definitely tend towards male singers, so I wasn’t sure how this would go.

Thankfully it was fine.  She did a few musical choices that I didn’t love (Call Me Maybe….am I the only person hating on this song???), but overall it was fine.  The class was essentially three 9-13 minute blocks of hill work.  It went by pretty fast and I got a great sweat on.  Unfortunately the effectiveness of the man next to me’s deodorant was questionable at times, but what can you do?

I was happy.  I finally found a spin class that I could tolerate (enjoy, even).  Hooray!

And now it’s back to the grind…two days on, one day off, two days on.  Come on week!

I also signed up for instagram this weekend, so anyone looking to see some of my random photos can follow me at lednob.

Leave a Reply

